Emory Eye Center

News from the center

Faculty Awards

Maria Aaron, MD Maria Aaron, MD, was promoted to full professor. Additionally, she was inducted into the inaugural ACGME Program Directors Academy at Emory University School of Medicine, an honor bestowed because of her wise and loyal service to residents and their training. She is Chair of the Special Projects Committee for the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) Annual Meeting, held each fall.

Allen Beck, MD Allen Beck, MD was appointed to the Executive Committee of the Childhood Glaucoma Research Network (CGRN), an international group of clinicians and scientists who specialize in treating children with glaucoma around the world. Beck presented the Noel Rice Lecture at the UK Pediatric Glaucoma Society Meeting at Moorsfield Hospital, London, in January.

Geoffrey Broocker, MD Geoffrey Broocker, MD was the invited speaker to the Cleveland Ophthalmological Society (via Cleveland Clinic/Case Western Reserve) in fall 2012.

Beau Bruce, MD Beau Bruce, MD was elected as a Fellow of the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society.

Henry F. Edelhauser, PhD Henry F. Edelhauser, PhD was selected by Emory Technology Transfer as the “2013 Start-up Company of the Year” winner for his work in ophthalmic-use microneedles (Clearside Biomedical). He also was selected to receive Michigan State University’s 2013 Outstanding Alumni Award by the College of Natural Science.

Hans Grossniklaus, MD, MBA Hans Grossniklaus, MD, MBA, was inducted into the  AOI (Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis), a prestigious international ophthalmology organization consisting of the world’s top academic ophthalmologists. Only two ophthalmologists from the United States were selected this year, with only 70 ophthalmologists having membership in this premier organization.

He received the Alcon Research Institute Investigator’s award for $100,000 for his work on microtechnology for the diagnosis and treatment of ocular tumors. The research includes using microbubble ultrasound contrast agent for imaging ocular tumors, microneedles for obtaining DNA for diagnosis of ocular melanoma, microneedles for injection a radioactive gel to treat ocular melanoma, minineedles to inject chemotherapy for retinoblastoma, and nanoparticles for the treatment of retinoblastoma.

Grossniklaus is editor of the newly published Pocket Guide to Ocular Oncology and Pathology (Springer), a handbook designed to serve as a reference on the clinical features and pathology of ocular tumors. Associate editors include Eye Center physicians Chris Bergstrom, G. Baker Hubbard and Jill R. Wells.

Amy Hutchinson, MD Amy Hutchinson, MD, associate professor, section of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus, was appointed Chair of Prevent Blindness Georgia’s Board of Directors. She also received a $20,000 grant from the Atlanta Pediatric Device Consortium for research on the Handy Eye Chart ™, developed to help visually assess non-verbal children.

G. Baker Hubbard III As national spokesperson for the American Academy of Ophthalmology, G. Baker Hubbard, MD, Thomas M. Aaberg Professor of Ophthalmology and director, section of vitreoretinal surgery and diseases, was interviewed about macular degeneration on three radio stations on March 19: WYAY- FM, Atlanta; KTIC-AM, Omaha, Neb.; and WRWD-FM, New York, N.Y.

P. Michael Iuvone,  PhD P. Michael Iuvone,  PhD,  Sylvia Montag Ferst and Frank W. Ferst Professor of Ophthalmology and director of Research, gave a plenary lecture, “Keeping time in the retina: circadian regulation of gene expression and visual function” at the International Congress on Chronobiology in New Delhi, India, on October 4.

Scott R. Lambert, MD Scott R. Lambert, MD, R. Howard Dobbs Professor of Ophthalmology and director, section of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus, is chairman of the Pediatric Ophthalmic Technology Assessment Committee for the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He also was appointed to the Data Monitoring Committee for Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Therapeutics Data and Safety Monitoring Board. He was a guest speaker at the annual meeting of the Tunisian Society of Ophthalmology in Tunis in March.

Phoebe Lenhart, MD Phoebe Lenhart, MD, assistant professor, section of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus, received the Emory University Global Health Institute’s Global Scholar Award, with a stipend. In 2012, Lenhart visited Burundi in Africa where she performed 130 needed surgeries on children. 

Susan Lewallen, MD Paul courtright, DrPH Affiliate faculty Susan Lewallen, MD, and Paul Courtright, DrPH, co-founders of the Kilimanjaro Centre for Community Ophthalmology in Tanzania, taught the second annual vision course at the Rollins School of Public Health in March.  Five faculty members at Emory Eye Center joined them in teaching the course, which focused is on the burden of vision issues in the community.

Nancy Newman, MD Nancy Newman, MD, will receive the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society’s 2013 William F. Hoyt Lecturer Award at the 117th Annual American Academy of Ophthalmology Meeting in November.  

John Nickerson, PhD John Nickerson, PhD, professor of ophthalmology and vice-director of research, was tapped a Gold Fellow of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), the premier vision research organization in the world.

Timothy Olsen, MD Timothy Olsen, MD, F. Phinizy Calhoun Sr. Professor of Ophthalmology and director, Emory Eye Center, served as keynote speaker at the 50th Anniversary of Kim's Eye Hospital in Seoul, the largest eye hospital in South Korea. He was the Flaum Eye Institute Distinguished Visiting Professor and keynote lecturer in Rochester, N.Y. at the 58th Rochester Ophthalmology Meeting. Olsen also spoke at SUNY Downstate Medical Center (Brooklyn) as visiting professor. Olsen served as chair of the Retina Preferred Practice Patterns for the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Practicing Ophthalmologist Committee for retina, and the Maintenance of Certification course in Chicago.

Purnima Patel, MD Purnima Patel, MD, assistant professor, uveitis and ocular immunology, was selected to be a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s Young Ophthalmologists Committee.

Susan Primo, OD, MPH Susan Primo, OD, MPH, director of Vision and Optical Services, was promoted to professor.

Paul Pruett, MD Paul Pruett, MD, section of glaucoma, serves as chief of service in the eye clinic at Grady Hospital in addition to heading up the ophthalmology residency program.

J. Bradley Randleman, MD J. Bradley Randleman, MD, director of cornea, external disease and refractive surgery, was promoted to professor. He is co-editor of the book, Corneal Collagen Cross-Linking (Slack, 2013), which provides a summary of the cross-linking theory, treatment, outcomes, and complications and their management. Randleman also serves as editor-in-chief of Journal of Refractive Surgery.

Michael Ward, MMSc, FAAO Michael Ward, MMSc, FAAO, instructor in ophthalmology, wrote a chapter and co-edited the book, Contact Lens Indications, Fitting and Management in a Medical Environment (2012), Contact Lens Society of America.

Ted Wojno, MD Ted Wojno, MD, James and Shirley Kuse Professor of Ophthalmology and director, section of oculoplastics, orbital and cosmetic surgery, was an invited speaker at the State of the Art in Facial Aesthetics 2013 spring meeting in Atlanta. Wojno also served as preceptor to three Georgia Tech seniors in biomedical engineering completing their senior design project, to design and, if possible, build a functioning prototype device. His group is attempting to construct a very slim device that can be inserted into the lacrimal punctum and canaliculus and “drill” through the bone into the nose to create a new tear duct.

Copyright © Emory Eye Center | Main Location: The Emory Clinic Building B, 1365B Clifton Road, NE, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 USA