2015 Events

Find upcoming events on the calendar
Residents and Fellows Graduation 2015

Residents and Fellows graduation dinner

On Saturday evening, June 13, 2015, Emory Eye Center faculty and invited guests gathered at the Emory Conference Center and Hotel to celebrate, with families and friends, the graduation of the 2015 class of Emory Eye Center ophthalmology residents and fellows.  It was an evening of awards, honors, good cheer and warm goodbyes to these outstanding young physicians.

The annual graduates' video presentation that closed the event was arguably the best ever,  concluding with the nostalgic melody by Green Day, "Time of your life."

Our graduates: Residents Drs. Abdallah Jeroudi, Jennifer Kim, Jessica Shantha, Michael Shumski, Heather Weissman, Monica Zhang; Fellows David Sackel, John Welling, Felicia Foundain, Luke Peterson, Kevin Sitko, Adeniyi Fisayo, Pia Mendoza, Natalie Weil, Matthew Debiec, and Cindy Hwang.

Hans Grossniklaus, MD, MBA and Patricia Chevéz-Barrios, MD

Southeastern Ocular Oncology/Pathology Seminar (SEOP)

The fifth annual Southeastern Ocular Oncology/Pathology Seminar (SEOP) was held on September 29, 2015, in the Emory Eye Center’s Learning Resources Center on the Emory campus.  The seminar, hosted by Hans Grossniklaus, focused on increasing knowledge in identifying and treating ocular malignancies for primary care physicians, ophthalmologists and oncologists and on how to apply this knowledge to clinical practice.

Keynote speaker, Patricia Chevéz-Barrios, director of Ophthalmic Pathology Fellowship Program at Houston Methodist Hospital and Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and Ophthalmology at Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University, delivered the Calhoun Lecture, “Ophthalmic Pathology: 2015 Update of Diagnostic Challenges, Limitations and Pitfalls.” Eye Center faculty members Chris Bergstrom (res. '02-05; retina fellow ’05-07); G. Baker Hubbard III (res. ’95-98); Jill Wells (ocular oncology fellow ’09); and Ted Wojno served as moderators during the case presentations.

SEVR Moderators

29th Annual SoutheasternVitreoretinal Seminar (SEVR)

Emory Eye Center hosted the 29th SEVR conference on April 24-25 at the historic Druid Hills Golf Club in Atlanta. The annual seminar addressed issues of the retina and treatments for its various disorders. Participants brought case presentations on vitreoretinal surgery, retinal diseases, medical retinal treatments and other related topics. Dean Eliott, MD, Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Harvard University, delivered the Paul Sternberg Lecture, "Current management of proliferative vitreoretinopathy."

G. Baker Hubbard, III hosted the seminar. Hubbard’s primary research interest is in characterizing the clinical manifestations of pediatric retinal disorders and their treatment outcomes. He also has been the institutional principal investigator for national clinical trials on emerging therapies for adult retinal disorders, such as diabetic retinopathy and age-related macular degeneration. Hubbard and retina service faculty–Chris Bergstrom, Blaine Cribbs, Andrew Hendrick, G. Baker Hubbard III, Nieraj Jain, Timothy W. Olsen, Joshua Robinson, Jiong Yan, and Steven Yeh–moderated case presentations.

AAO recognizes faculty at fall annual meeting in Las Vegas

The American Academy of Ophthalmology is the largest national membership association of ophthalmologists, medical and osteopathic doctors (Eye MDs) who provide comprehensive eye care, including medical, surgical and optical care. More than 90 percent of practicing U.S. Eye MDs and over 7,000 international Eye MDs are Academy members. The mission of AAO is to advance the lifelong learning and professional interests of ophthalmologists to ensure that the public can obtain the best possible eye care. Honored at this year’s meeting were:

Maria Aaron, comprehensive ophthalmology, received the AAO Senior Achievement Award bestowed by the Awards Committee and the Board of Trustees for her numerous contributions made to the Academy, its scientific and educational programs and to ophthalmology.

Anastasios Costarides, glaucoma, received the AAO Achievement Award. It is bestowed by the Awards Committee and the Board of Trustees for his contributions made to the Academy, its scientific and educational programs and to ophthalmology.

Hans E. Grossniklaus, ocular oncology/pathology, received the AAO Life Achievement Award for many years of participation in the national meeting, his service to AAO and his significant contributions to ophthalmology. Grossniklaus is the F. Phinizy Calhoun Jr. Professor of Ophthalmology, the director of the nationally-respected L.F. Montgomery Pathology Laboratory and the section of Ophthalmic Pathology/Ocular Oncology. He is a renowned physician with expertise in diagnostic ophthalmic pathology, ocular oncology, age-related macular degeneration and ophthalmic pathology research.

Purnima Patel (transition year res. ’06; res. ’06-09) received the AAO Achievement Award for contributions in the organization’s programming. She also was selected to participate in the AAO Leadership Development program, representing the Georgia Society of Ophthalmology. 

Press release