Give Now button

Faculty and Physicians
Listed by Specialty

Select panels to view
and hide menu items

Contact Lens (Specialty)
Ophthalmic Genetics

Faculty and Physicians

Timothy W. Olsen, MD

Chair Emeritus of the Department of Ophthalmology
Emory University School of Medicine

Timothy W. Olsen, MD, served from 2007-16 as chair; F. Phinizy Calhoun Sr. Professor of Ophthalmology, Emory University School of Medicine; and director of Emory Eye Center.  In 2016, he was appointed Chairman Emeritus when he stepped down from his position to found iMacular Regeneration, LLC. He returned to Rochester, Minnesota in 2017, where he serves Consultant the Department of Ophthalmology at the Mayo Clinic.

Dr. Olsen graduated summa cum laude from the University of Kansas and then from the University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, where he was elected as a member of Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society (ΑΩΑ). He completed his residency at the University of Minnesota and fellowship in vitreoretinal surgery and diseases (retina) at Emory Eye Center.

His academic career started at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. He was then recruited to found and direct the Minnesota Lions Macular Degeneration Center at the University of Minnesota, where he served for 10 years as the William H. Knobloch Endowed Chair for Retina.

Dr. Olsen’s primary area of research is age-related macular degeneration (AMD). He developed novel drug delivery systems, particularly in the area of transscleral and suprachoroidal drug delivery. His work led to the development of commercial applications of suprachoroidal drug delivery. His AMD grading system of eye bank eyes is recognized internationally for the study of early AMD pathogenesis.

During his career, he has been awarded over $8.2M in direct research support. Dr. Olsen has been designated a top doctor in Castle Connolly America's Top Doctors in Madison, Wisconsin; Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota; and Atlanta Georgia and has received six distinguished teaching awards from four universities.

His publication record includes over 165 peer-reviewed articles, monographs and 25 book chapters. He has given approximately 295 national or international lectures.

Timothy W. Olsen, MD

Medical School: University of Kansas, 1989

Residency: University of Minnesota, 1993

Fellowship in Vitreoretinal Surgery and Diseases (Retina): Emory Eye Center, Atlanta GA, 1994-96


Our Emory campus location:

Copyright © Emory Eye Center - All Rights Reserved | Emory Clinic Building B, 1365B Clifton Road, NE, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 USA