News Releases

June 21, 2013

Emory Eye Center Director Olsen recipient of prestigious Secretariat Award

Media contact:  Joy Bell, 404-778-3711

John M. Nickerson, PhD Emory Eye Center director Timothy W. Olsen, MD, chair of the Emory department of Ophthalmology of the Emory School of Medicine and F. Phinizy Calhoun Sr. Professor of Ophthalmology, is a recipient of the American Academy of Ophthalmology's (AAO) Secretariat Award.

The Secretariat Award recognizes ophthalmologists for special contributions to AAO and ophthalmology. Recipients are selected by the senior secretaries and secretaries in their respective areas and approved by the board of trustees. The annual award was developed to increase opportunities for ophthalmologists to be recognized for contributions outside of the scope of the current Achievement Award Program.

Recipients of the award have provided service and effort out of proportion to other volunteers — service “above and beyond” — i.e., individuals who have contributed through outstanding organizational, management and/or administrative activities in support of AAO and ophthalmology. The award is intended to acknowledge those individuals who have really made a difference in their efforts.
Olsen was selected for his particular contributions to the development of the AAO’s Knowledge Base. He served as a member of the Practicing Ophthalmologists Curriculum (POC) Retina and Vitreous Panel, first as a member, then vice chair and ultimately chair.

His work helped develop a knowledge base of clinically relevant material that is used as the basis for Maintenance of Certification examinations. Olsen also served as an instructor for the MOC (maintenance of certification) Exam Review course in 2008.

Olsen joined Emory Eye Center as director in 2008, having served at the University of Minnesota prior to his Emory appointment. He received a medical degree at the University of Kansas, completed an ophthalmology residency at the University of Minnesota and a fellowship in vitreoretinal diseases and surgery at Emory Eye Center.

Olsen’s clinical expertise is in age-related macular degeneration (AMD), diabetic retinopathy, complex retinal detachment surgery and pediatric retinal disorders. His research focuses on AMD, biomedical engineering projects addressing new surgical techniques with colleagues at Georgia Tech, and drug delivery systems. He has an active surgical lab, using advanced surgical techniques in the pig model of various vitreoretinal disorders. He holds three patents. As principal investigator on many separate grants, his total research grant funding is currently over $5.4 million.

Olsen holds leadership positions in the American Ophthalmologic Society (AOS), AAO and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). He has been selected to serve on the Board of Directors for The Emory Clinic, Board of Trustees for the Center for the Visually Impaired, and is an active member of the Macula and Retina Society, as well as the Society of Heed Fellows.

He serves as an executive editor for the American Journal of Ophthalmology, and on the editorial board of Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Science (IOVS), Ocular Surgery News (OSN), and serves as a reviewer for numerous journals.

Other awards include the Young Investigator Award, Macula Society (2010); “Top Doctors,” Retina Specialty, Atlanta magazine (2011-12); Gold Fellow Award, ARVO (2012); Top Ophthalmologist, U.S. News & World Report (2011-2012); and 135 Leading Ophthalmologists in America, Becker’s ASC (Ambulatory Surgery Centers) Review (2011).



Our Emory campus location:

Copyright © Emory Eye Center - All Rights Reserved | Emory Clinic Building B, 1365B Clifton Road, NE, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 USA