News Releases

July 6, 2015

Media contact: Joy Bell, 404-778-3711

Emory Eye Center physicians to be honored at fall meeting of the American Academy of Ophthalmology

(ATLANTA) Four faculty members of the Emory Eye Center will be honored at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), to be held in Las Vegas in November.

AAO is the largest national membership association of Eye MDs: ophthalmologists, medical doctors who provide comprehensive eye care, including medical, surgical and optical care. More than 90 percent of practicing U.S. eye MDs are Academy members, and the Academy has more than 7,000 international members. The mission of AAO is to advance the lifelong learning and professional interests of ophthalmologists (eye MDs) to ensure that the public can obtain the best possible eye care.

“At Emory, we are very proud each of these remarkable individuals and their service contributions to the AAO,” says Emory Eye Center director Timothy W. Olsen, MD. “Their talent and impressive work advances the Academy’s mission in many ways, and the AAO’s formal recognition of their countless hours of service is greatly appreciated.”

The following Eye Center physicians will be honored in November:

Maria Aaron, MDMaria Aaron, MD, a comprehensive ophthalmologist and professor of ophthalmology, will receive the AAO Senior Achievement Award bestowed by the Awards Committee and the Board of Trustees for her numerous contributions made to the Academy, its scientific and educational programs and to ophthalmology.

Aaron, who directs the Eye Center’s residency program, is a known expert in residency education and has published a number of articles and chapters on the subject as well as speaking engagements. In 2010, she was awarded the prestigious Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education, jointly bestowed by the AAO and the American University Professors of Ophthalmology. She also received the 2011 Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education’s (ACGME) Parker J. Palmer "Courage to Teach" Award, which is presented nationally to 10 outstanding residency program directors for their commitment to teaching and their innovative and effective teaching methods.

Anastasios Costarides, MD, PhDAnastasios Costarides, MD, PhD, a glaucoma specialist and the Pamela Humphrey Firman Professor of Ophthalmology, will receive the AAO Achievement Award. It is bestowed by the Awards Committee and the Board of Trustees for his contributions made to the Academy, its scientific and educational programs and to ophthalmology.

In 2010, Costarides served as president of the Georgia Society of Ophthalmology, an organization comprising some 260 Georgia ophthalmologists whose mission is to serve the total visual health care needs of Georgians through public and professional education, membership services and legislative advocacy. It also provides direct access for the public to an ophthalmologist’s care.

He has participated in multiple clinical research studies sponsored by both the National Eye Institute and industry. Investigations have included the Advanced Glaucoma Intervention Study and the Ocular Hypertension Treatment Study. These pivotal studies have significantly altered and advanced glaucoma care.

Hans E. Grossniklaus, MD, MBA Hans E. Grossniklaus, MD, MBA, an ocular oncology/pathology specialist and the F. Phinizy Calhoun Jr. Professor of Ophthalmology, will receive the AAO Life Achievement Award for many years of participation in the national meeting, his service to AAO and his significant contributions to ophthalmology.

Grossniklaus is the director of the L.F. Montgomery Pathology Laboratory and the section of Ophthalmic Pathology/Ocular Oncology. He has expertise in diagnostic ophthalmic pathology, ocular oncology, age-related macular degeneration and ophthalmic pathology research.

Past AAO awards include the Senior Achievement Award and two Secretariat Awards. At Emory University, he was tapped one of eight Distinguished Teaching Scholars. He has served as president of the American Association of Ophthalmic Oncologists and Pathologists and as president of the American Ophthalmological Society. In 2014, he delivered the Jackson Memorial Lecture to AAO, the most acclaimed lecture in clinical ophthalmology in the United States. That year he was also inducted into the Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis (AOI), the most prestigious academic ophthalmology society in the world.

J. Bradley Randleman, MDJ. Bradley Randleman, MD will receive the AAO’s inaugural ISRS (International Society of Refractive Surgery) award, one of five physicians to receive it. ISRS is the leading organization for refractive, cataract cornea and lens-based surgeons and a partner of the AAO. Last year, he received the Senior Achievement Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology for distinguished service to the Academy.

Randleman has been awarded the prestigious Claes Dohlman Fellow Society Award (2004); the Secretariat Award by the AAO (2007) and the inaugural Binkhorst Young Ophthalmologist Award from the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS). In 2011, he received the Kritzinger Memorial Award from the ISRS and was elected to the "135 Leading Ophthalmologists in America" listing by Becker's ASC Review (Ambulatory Surgery Centers). Additionally, he was awarded the ASCRS Foundation Research Grant for his work on LASIK procedures. He regularly reviews articles for national ophthalmic journals, including: American Journal of Ophthalmology; Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery; Cornea; and Ophthalmology: Journal of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. Randleman currently serves as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Refractive Surgery.


Our Emory campus location:

Copyright © Emory Eye Center - All Rights Reserved | Emory Clinic Building B, 1365B Clifton Road, NE, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 USA