News Releases

December 5, 2016
Media contact: Leigh DeLozier (404) 778-3711,

Eye Center Faculty Are Recognized During Annual Celebration of Faculty

(ATLANTA) Thirteen Emory Eye Center faculty members were recognized during the Emory School of Medicine’s Celebration of Faculty Excellence ceremony and reception on December 1. More than 250 faculty members representing each department from the School of Medicine were recognized that evening.

Optometrist Fulya Anderson and ophthalmologist Andrew Hendrick were honored for their high levels of patient satisfaction scores on Press Ganey surveys. They each finished above the ophthalmology department goal and in the top 90th percentile for ophthalmology patient surveys nationwide. In addition, Yousuf Khalifa accepted the award on behalf of the Grady Eye Clinic for meeting patient satisfaction goals set by Grady Health System for 2016 to date.

Neuro-ophthalmologists Valerie Biousse and Nancy Newman were noted for their national appointments to the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society. Biousse was elected vice president in 2016 and Newman an elected member of the Board of Directors. In addition, Biousse is now an international delegate for the French Society of Ophthalmology.

Other national-level recognitions included researcher Jeffrey Boatright for being appointed to the Board of Governors for the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO); glaucoma specialist Anastasios Costarides and cornea/refractive surgery specialist Yousuf Khalifa for receiving the Achievement Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO); and retina and ocular oncology specialist G. Baker Hubbard, III, for receiving the Senior Achievement Award from AAO.

At the regional level, oculoplastics specialist Brent Hayek was recognized for being chosen as a keynote speaker and Distinguished Alumnus of Loyola University.

Ophthalmologist Purnima Patel recently was promoted to associate professor of Ophthalmology at Emory University School of Medicine. She was recognized at the reception for that milestone.

One new addition to the ceremony for 2016 was the Mentor Award. This award recognizes faculty who have shown outstanding mentoring related to education, service and/or research to medical trainees or faculty who are early in their careers. Hubbard and Khalifa were nominated for this award, along with uveitis/vasculitis specialist Steven Yeh and oculoplastics specialist H. Joon Kim.

Department Chairs were able to nominate faculty members for the Hidden Gem award in recognition of their outstanding – but often unnoticed or unrecognized – contributions to Emory or beyond. The ophthalmology Hidden Gem award was given to Jeremy Jones, a glaucoma specialist who recently moved from assistant residency program director for ophthalmology to program director. As stated in his nomination, “[he] is the consummate team player. He is a busy clinician who splits his time between Emory and Grady, and devotes much energy into teaching students, residents and fellows. He is a delight to be around and will step into any role as needed.”

Last week’s ceremony marked the third annual celebration in conjunction with the Emory School of Medicine’s Faculty Recognition Week.

“It was a great pleasure to see so many ophthalmology faculty honored,” says Allen Beck, interim chair of ophthalmology and director of Emory Eye Center. “We are fortunate to have a very dedicated faculty focused on service, academic achievement and mentoring.”

Our Emory campus location:

Copyright © Emory Eye Center - All Rights Reserved | Emory Clinic Building B, 1365B Clifton Road, NE, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 USA